2020 Do Something Great Awards

For 16 years, the Macon County Legacy Do Something Great Awards have honored initiatives, companies and individuals making a positive impact on our community. This year’s winners are being announced following virtual ceremonies.

“This year has been unlike any other,” said The Community Foundation of Macon County CEO Natalie Beck. “We are recognizing individuals, volunteers and companies that are transformative leaders, trailblazers and prominent philanthropists. Each of the award recipients is a shining beacon of hope for our community.”

2020 Recipients:

Award for Excellence in Inclusion – Honors an individual at the frontier of advancing inclusion and an advocate for the interests of underrepresented populations.

  • Cristobal Valdez, Ed.D., nominated by Dr. Juanita Morris and Richland Community College
  • Julia Roundtree-Livingston, nominated by Jeanelle Keck

Award for Outstanding Nonprofit Executive – Honors an individual paid professional who has demonstrated outstanding commitment, dedication and talent toward helping society.

  • Shamika Madison, Boys & Girls Club of Decatur executive director, nominated by Boys & Girls Club of Decatur Board

Award for Outstanding Professional Partner – Honors a business that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to philanthropy by aiding nonprofit organizations and serving our community.

  • Neuhoff Media, nominated by Crossing Healthcare, the United Way of Decatur & Mid-Illinois and The Community Foundation of Macon County
  • The Gerber State Bank, Trustee of the Phyllis M. Winings Trust, nominated by Argenta-Oreana Fire Department

Award for Outstanding Young Philanthropist – Recognizes an individual under age 40 for volunteer and philanthropic efforts.

  • Nolan Evans, nominated by The Community Foundation of Macon County
  • Ethan Parker, nominated by Alzheimer’s Association

Award for Outstanding Board Member/Volunteer – Recognizes an individual who has devoted great time and effort to charitable causes and has shown a deep commitment to voluntary actions.

  • Ellen Hearn, nominated by MRI, Inc.

Award for COVID-19 Hero – Recognizes an individual whose actions have made a significantly positive impact on Macon County’s pandemic crisis response.

  • Matt Honnold, nominated by The Salvation Army of Decatur & Macon County
  • Christine Harshman, nominated by Webster Cantrell Youth Advocacy
  • Dr. Jarmese Sherrod, nominated by Decatur Rotary Club No. 180

Robert and Bev Ketenbrink Community Commitment Award – Honors an individual or private foundation with a record of exceptional generosity and charitable responsibility.

  • Charlotte Ballance and the T.S. & Juanita Ballance Foundation, nominated by the United Way of Decatur & Mid-Illinois and Webster Cantrell Youth Advocacy

Macon County Legacy is a membership group of charitable organizations and professional advisers.