2021 Do Something Great Award Nominations Accepted through July 18

Honoring those who have made the greatest impact in legacy donations in Macon County

Each year the Macon County Legacy group honors amazing individuals who represent the very best of our community: they are transformative leaders, diverse thinkers, eager trailblazers, and prominent philanthropists — each a shining beacon of possibility, change and hope for Macon County. Do Something Great honorees represent the best and brightest of Macon County's philanthropists and exemplify the common bonds that connect us. They are our heroes.

Nominations are being accepted June 23 through July 18 for the 2021 Do Something Great Awards, an annual recognition program for Macon County residents who made significant positive impact on our community, especially during the past year. The awardees are selected by members of the Macon County Legacy group and sponsored by The Community Foundation of Macon County (CFMC).

The six different award categories and the nomination requirements per category are listed below. One recipient will be honored in each category. Each nomination should include details summarizing how the nominee’s efforts have had positive community impact. To view a list of past recipients, visit www.heartofillinois.org/award-recipients.

All nominations must be submitted in writing to CFMC’s Candra Reed at creed@maconcountygives.org no later than July 18. Nominators may submit more than one nomination. All nominees will be invited to a presentation luncheon on Tuesday, Aug. 17, when the award recipients will be announced.

Have questions about the Do Something Great awards program? Call Natalie Beck at 217.429.3000 or send an email to nbeck@maconcountygives.org.

Do Something Great Award Categories

Award of Excellence for Inclusion
Award honors a nonprofit organization/or individual at the frontier of advancing inclusion and working toward an equitable Macon County community. The nomination should include evidence demonstrating an ongoing commitment to diversity and inclusion, to advancing diversity awareness within Macon County, and to serving as an advocate for the interests of underrepresented populations.

Outstanding Emerging Philanthropist
Award recognizes service by an individual under age 40 who demonstrates outstanding commitment to the community through direct financial support, development of charitable programs, volunteerism and leadership in philanthropy.

Outstanding Volunteer/Board Member
Award presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills, devoted great time and effort to charitable causes, and shown a deep commitment of voluntary action to address community needs.

Outstanding Philanthropic Support to the Arts
Award honors creators, conceivers, radical thinking and risk-takers providing philanthropic support to the arts in Macon County.

Nonprofit Professional of the Year
Award presented to an individual paid professional who has demonstrated outstanding commitment, dedication and talent toward helping society. This may include (but is not limited to) executive directors, directors of development, program directors and support staff. Additional criteria could include description of achievements specific to providing community assistance during the pandemic.

Outstanding Professional Partner
Award presented to a business/professional partner that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to philanthropy by aiding nonprofit organizations in our community. The nomination should include evidence of direct financial contributions to and/or support of the community, impact of financial support or projects in the community, and specific achievements launched through the corporation’s philanthropic efforts.

Robert and Bev Ketenbrink Community Commitment Award
Award presented to an individual, a couple or a family with a record of exceptional generosity, demonstrated outstanding civic or charitable responsibility, and leadership that has encouraged and motivated others toward roles in philanthropy. This award includes a $1,000 grant to the recipient's charity of choice.