24 Local Residents Receive Adult Scholarship Funding for Spring 2023

Each student selected receives up to a $2,500 scholarship for college or vocational training

Twenty Four Macon County adults are receiving $50,000 in educational scholarships through a competitive program coordinated by The Community Foundation of Macon County. This semester’s individual awards range from $750 to $2,500. Since inception in 2020, the adult scholarship program is possible thanks to generous individuals, families, and organizations, granting out $100,000 annually.

The adult scholarship program represents an investment in workforce development supporting individuals seeking further education in critical need fields. This scholarship cycle, seven recipients who work for Decatur Public Schools are receiving scholarships to continue their education, four new recipients are pursuing counseling related degrees, two recipients are participating in trade programs through Midstate Electrical Training Center, and one new recipient is pursuing a PhD in nursing.

New Adult Scholarship Recipients Spring 2023

  • Kelsey Armstrong, Southern New Hampshire
  • Chambrielle Evans, Millikin University
  • Sheiliane Gragg, Millikin University
  • Natasha Hamilton, Millikin University
  • Jamie Hauersperger, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • Diane Johnson, Millikin University
  • Chelsi Jones, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • Katurah Lloyd, Millikin University
  • John Meek, Midstate Electrical Training Center
  • Catina Moore, Millikin University
  • Kristin Murray, Arizona State University
  • Kati Smith, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • Michelle Wright, University of Illinois-Chicago

Renewing Adult Scholarship Recipients Spring 2023

  • Sarah Bradley, Millikin University
  • Keela Cook, Richland Community College
  • Keagan Cunningham, Richland Community College
  • Tyrrina Dandridge, Richland Community College
  • Amanda Drain, Millikin University
  • Heidi Lourash, Richland Community College
  • Ashley Nail, Richland Community College
  • Shawndra Sorrell, Richland Community College
  • Jeanette Vought, Richland Community College
  • Jenna Ward, Millikin University
  • LaMarcus Williams, Midwest Electrical Training Center

The next application session for students is scheduled to begin on January 1, 2023, with applications due March 1, 2023. To be eligible, students must be a Macon County resident age 24 or older, have a high school diploma or GED, have a gap of at least 3 consecutive years between degrees, and be enrolled in an accredited college/university by the Council for Higher Education nationwide in person or online.

For information about the Foundation’s scholarship program and application process, call CFMC Scholarship Coordinator Kathy Carter at 217.220.1363 or email her at kcarter@maconcountygives.org or visit www.heartofillinois.org/adult-scholarships.