CFMC Names 2021-22 Board President, Officers

The Community Foundation of Macon County (CFMC) has announced its board officers for the 2021-22 year, which began July 1:

Chair – Kara Demirjian Huss, president, DCC Marketing

Vice Chair – Kris Lutt, president, sweeteners, starches and acidulants, ADM

Secretary – Dana Ray, M.D., chief medical director, Crossing Healthcare

Treasurer – Tony Wilkins, superintendent administrator, Ameren

“During the past year of unprecedented challenges for our community, we were blessed with an outstanding and dedicated leader in Cathy Mansur and engaged, committed board trustees,” says Natalie Beck, CFMC president. “We are delighted Cathy is continuing as a board trustee and is willing to help keep our community moving forward.

“As we enter our next board year, we look forward to the passion and energy that Kara and her colleagues will provide for our Foundation through their leadership,” Beck continues. “It is a privilege to work with her and these other community leaders in addressing the emerging and ongoing needs of Macon County residents.”

Huss, a CFMC board member since 2016, is founder and president of DCC Marketing, a state-certified Women's Business Enterprise (WBE) that provides full-service marketing, advertising, PR and web services to companies around the world. She is also VP and global marketing director of T/CCI Manufacturing, a global leader in compressor technology for the commercial vehicle market with facilities in 11 countries.

In addition to her new role as CFMC board chair, Huss serves on the Millikin University Board of Trustees, Economic Development of Macon County Executive Board and Decatur Parks Foundation Board. She also serves on the Carle Illinois College of Medicine Advisory Council for Advancement and is a lifetime member of the President's Council, both for the University of Illinois.

“Being part of The Community Foundation board has opened my eyes to the unbelievable positive impact of our community's nonprofits and to the overwhelming generosity of donors who actively support their efforts through gifts to The Foundation,” Huss says. “It is an honor to lead such a vital organization and see firsthand how The Foundation is instrumental in improving lives in our community.”

Other returning CFMC board members include: Najiba Benabess, Ph.D., dean of the Tabor School of Business at Millikin University; Kendall Briscoe, Caterpillar communications and PR manager; Chris Funk, executive vice president, Hickory Point Bank & Trust; Rich Kaczynski, CFP, financial advisor; Duane Noland, president and CEO of the Association of Illinois Electric Co-ops; and Pastor Matt Samuels, GT Church. District Four Appellate Court Justice Lisa Holder White, a CFMC board member who served the maximum three terms allowed, retired from the board at the end of June but will continue to serve on CFMC’s discretionary grants committee. “Her legacy will continue to advance our progress and positively impact our community,” Beck says. “Justice Holder White’s unwavering commitment and contributions to the Foundation will forever be linked to its growth, impact and success.”

“Thanks to our committed board leadership and our community’s support, our Foundation can succeed in its mission to connect the philanthropic goals of donors with the needs of Macon County in order to address those needs,” Beck says.