26 Local Residents Receive Adult Scholarship Funding for Fall Semester 2024

Each student selected receives up to a $2,500 scholarship for college or vocational training

Macon County – Twenty-six Macon County residents are receiving nearly $60,000 in educational scholarships through a competitive program coordinated by The Heart of Illinois Community Foundation. This semester’s individual awards range from $1,000 to $2,500. Since inception in 2020, the adult scholarship program is possible thanks to generous individuals, families, and organizations, granting up to $100,000 annually.

The adult scholarship program represents an investment in workforce development supporting individuals seeking further education in critical need fields. This scholarship cycle, six new recipients are pursuing advanced degrees in education, three recipients are pursuing degrees in social work, two recipients are pursuing degrees in business administration, one is pursuing a master’s in nursing, and one is pursuing a local apprenticeship.

New Adult Scholarship Recipients Fall 2024

  • Brooke Bates, University of Tennessee–Knoxville
  • Lillian Briscoe, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Nikki Eagler, American College of Education
  • Jami Fawley, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Heather Fields, Grand Canyon University
  • Tara Hubbard, Grand Canyon University
  • Alexa Jones, Eastern Illinois University
  • Garrett McMillion, Midstate Electrical Training Center
  • Abigail Norman, American College of Education
  • Denisha Patrick, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
  • Joshua Platzbecker, Millikin University
  • Allison Shuppara, Undecided
  • Emily West, Millikin University

Renewing Adult Scholarship Recipients Fall 2024

  • Kelsey Armstrong, Southern New Hampshire University
  • Nathan Cardinal, Wilmington University
  • Denise Flexser, Grand Canyon University
  • Natasha Hamilton, Millikin University
  • Diane Johnson, Millikin University
  • Evan Klaves, IBEW 146 Apprenticeship
  • Serena Klaves, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • John Meek, Midstate Electrical Training Center
  • Raphaella Prange, Maryville University
  • Kati Smith, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • Andrew Taylor, Millikin University
  • Tamika Thomas, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • LaMarcus Williams, Midstate Electrical Training Center

Questions about the Adult Scholarship Program should be directed to Kathy Carter at kcarter@heartofillinois.org or 217.429.3000.