Workforce Development Scholarships

The Heart of Illinois Community Foundation's Workforce Development Scholarships provide designated support for workforce development programs in Macon County. These programs are administered by the partner agency.

Moving Forward Endowed Scholarship at Richland Community College to benefit Emergency Medical Services students.

For scholarship information, contact: Tara Mata, RCC Director, Scholarships and Alumni Relations, 217-875-7211, Ext. 6203,

$10,000 Michael T. Carrigan Solidarity Scholarship program provides annual funding to support Macon County (Ill.) union members in good standing or workers with a path of entry into a union.

The Michael T. Carrigan Solidarity Scholarship is named for a four-term Decatur councilman and union leader who rose to serve as president of the Illinois AFL-CIO from 2007-2019.

The scholarship funding supports: tools, essential work clothing such as boots and gloves, school tuition, General Education Diploma expenses, apprentice application fees and certifications.

For scholarship information, contact Amy Rueff, Decatur Trades & Labor Assembly treasurer and Illinois AFL-CIO resource director, at, or contact your union leadership.