Do Something Great Awards

The 20th Annual Do Something Great Awards will be held on August 7.

This annual awards program honors amazing individuals and organizations who have made a significant positive impact on Macon County through giving of their time, talent and/or treasure. The Heart of Illinois Community Foundation (HICF) has sponsored this program for the past 20 years.

For more information about the Do Something Great awards program, call Rachel Moran at 217.429.3000 or send an email to To view a list of past recipients, visit

The 2024 Do Something Great Award Categories:

Award of Excellence in Inclusion
Award honors a nonprofit organization/or individual at the frontier of advancing inclusion and working toward an equitable Macon County community. The nomination should include evidence demonstrating an ongoing commitment to diversity and inclusion, to advancing diversity awareness within Macon County, and to serving as an advocate for the interests of underrepresented populations.

Outstanding Young Philanthropist
Award recognizes service by an individual or organization of individuals under age 40 who demonstrates outstanding commitment to the community through direct financial support, development of charitable programs, volunteerism and leadership in philanthropy.

Outstanding Volunteer/Board Member
Award presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills, devoted great time and effort to charitable causes, and shown a deep commitment of voluntary action to address community needs.

Outstanding Professional Partner
Award presented to a business/professional partner that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to philanthropy by aiding nonprofit organizations in our community. The nomination should include evidence of direct financial contributions to and/or support of the community, impact of financial support or projects in the community, and specific achievements launched through the corporation’s philanthropic efforts.

Outstanding Philanthropic Support to the Arts
Award honors creators, conceivers, radical thinking and risk-takers providing philanthropic support to the arts in Macon County.

The Ray Batman Nonprofit Professional of the Year
Award presented to an individual paid professional who has demonstrated outstanding commitment, dedication and talent toward helping society. This may include (but is not limited to) executive directors, directors of development, program directors and support staff. Additional criteria could include description of achievements specific to providing community assistance during the pandemic. In 2021, this annual award was renamed in memory of the late Ray Batman, longtime executive director of Dove, Inc. Batman was well known throughout the local area as a servant-leader, mentor and community hero whose actions made a positive difference in our community in numerous ways. He died unexpectedly in June 2021.

Robert and Bev Ketenbrink Community Commitment Award
Award presented to an individual, a couple or a family with a record of exceptional generosity, demonstrated outstanding civic or charitable responsibility, and leadership that has encouraged and motivated others toward roles in philanthropy. This award includes a $1,000 grant to the recipient's charity of choice.